Stay at home vs Working mom

I’ve always worked since the day I turned 16. I’ve had a few weeks between jobs a few times, until I became a mom. I stayed home for about 6 months before returning to work. April of last year my dad passed away really unexpectedly. I tried returning to work but the emotional hell I went thru would not let me. I got more time home with my now 2 year old as well which was a bonus. At this point in our lives we’re making it on one income but not easily. It’s paycheck to paycheck and a bit of stress. Also trying to expand our family we know we need more income. So I’m starting a new job soon. I will be working from home, but my daughter will be at a sitters while I’m working. The anxiety of not being with her all the time and starting something new are becoming a little overwhelming. I’m happy I can contribute to my family and help us live more comfortably but I also am so use to our every day lives now. It helps that 99% of the time my mom will be babysitting so I know my baby is in good hands. I also have a great new job where I get to stay in my pajamas all day so I’m very lucky. I do wish we could afford to live off his income, but it’s just not possible anymore. It’s going to be a big adjustment. My fiancĂ© also is changing back to second shift so we’re working more of the same hours and our time off will be able to be spend as a family rather than us working at different times and never seeing each other. Once I get into the habit of working again I’m sure I’m going to enjoy it. I can’t wait to get to that point.

-M

One thought on “Stay at home vs Working mom

Leave a Reply

